HELP!

05/17/2021

How are you? Do you find yourself saying it over and over now in light of the pandemic? It's a pervasive phrase that has and does change us. And many are asking because they really want to know. I believe it has to do with returning to a world that innately cares for each other. I mean, really cares. At the same time I'm wondering if, after this virus is under control, we will all go back to looking out for number one.

We have gone through decades of asking and not wanting to know. Which brought about our pithy reply: "I'm good". Really? Do we really care more now? What a great day we are in as we get a handle on the most important part of being a human being, and that it to be compassionate and a help those who see themselves as being helpless and to get the help we personally need.

But to really care, we need one more thing and that is to care like God does. "God cares for you" and we need to really care like He does. Unfortunately, as a society, we have lost our moral compass of the truth about truth and truths that are buried under lies. If you have read this far you probably know what I'm saying. Now, as society is becoming more and more compassionate, we are also becoming more divided on almost every issue. We are wondering about what is the real truth. I have also noticed people standing up for what they believe is "the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help me . . ." But... you knew that was coming. But, I wonder if some opinions are based not on truth as we know it in our bibles but on assumptions. My bible tells me that 'the truth will set me free.'

This is what I am thinking about. We have moved away from our moral compass and created our own magnetic north. There can only be one truth. This week I read a verse in the Old Testament that I knew but didn't put it in the whole context of living life. It's actually on my office door here at the church. Here it is from the MSG: Nahum 1:7 "GOD is good, a hiding place in tough times. He recognizes and welcomes anyone looking for help, No matter how desperate the trouble."

That is where we need to stand. If God is good, we stand on His law for all mankind. For us to know the truth that not only sets us free but guides us as we journey in life together we will arrive at a new and wonderful beginning. We will understand the difference between, what is right and wrong, truth and lies, love and hate, good and evil. And we will live to be a help to the helpless and call for help when we need it. This is the real truth that we all need. So, 'How are you?'

Something to think about.

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started