Just Give It Away

05/03/2021

It's time! Well, the truth is, it's past time. I have always thought it was time to start downsizing when you turn say seventy. And for years I have told people, when you get something new, throw or give away something. Did I take my own advice? I'll tell you later.

This downsizing thing is process. First there were garage sales. They don't work anymore because people want a $100 item for two bucks. Being we have children, we always assumed they wanted some of our 'stuff'. Nope, they're not interested. Not even the expensive stuff. We then thought of selling things. This was met by other people our age trying to sell the same thing.

So, now that I am well past the date that I thought I should have started, I'm starting. Salvation Army is making money on those things that we give away. Toys we bought years ago for the kids have finally make the trek there only to be gobbled up by people looking for collector's items. What's with that. At least it's going to the right place. Then there are the garbage bags of cloth that are too large, Sally Ann once again.

Just so you know, it's a long process to process everything that you have accumulated over the years. It is, for us older individuals, time to give it all away. But it is also a time to recognize what is the best things to give away and what to keep. Just a thought, maybe we should give away everything but the things our children really so want.

For years we have opened our bibles, gone to worship and just absorbed what it means to Know Him. We learned what it meant to sing, 'I Will Follow Him" and mean it. Our society is getting more and more, secular and anti-faith. Maybe it's our fault. For too long we were afraid to share our faith. Which makes us realize that it's past time to speak up and give our faith away to those who will still listen to our amazing faith journey.

Something to think about.

Let's get back to the first part of this. I have always given things away. Too many times in my life I have loaned my tools and never got them back. I guess I started years ago when I forgot who I loaned things to.

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started