Sunflowers in the Sun

05/31/2021

Just so you know, we still have time to accomplish things we wanted to do for years. This pandemic has really got us to think about something that for years has driven our hearts desire. But we have never had time before. And like you, it's time before our lives get too full again in doing stuff.

For many years, many, many, years I have thought about writing a book on what it's like to follow Jesus. And not just any book, I wanted to write about what it's like to walk with Jesus, one step at a time. I guess the closest concept I'm thinking about is summed up in this statement: "We are trying to re-create God's paradise in our lives."

The more I think about this, the more I think about working in the garden. We get a design, we work the soil, we weed and plan. In our climate, we can't do it all in a year. And that I feel is holding us back. There are all kinds of snow and cold where can we sit back and plan for next year's additions. But don't forget the line about the plans of might and men. Then spring comes and we need to start all over again.

The more I have thought about this the more I realize I'm actually doing what I have thought about for years. I realized lately I have been doing it one page at a time. It's now over 1250 pages. For over twenty four years I have sat down and wrote to those who would read one page at a time. Some have suggested I put it all together in a book. I checked that out and there are already thousands of people doing the same thing and maybe better than I.

But there is more to it. There is writing about a relationship that is more than a goal oriented process. It's a growth oriented experience. You see, it's more than getting our hands dirty while working the soil of life. It is a non-stop process that bring us to our final growing relationship with Christ. It's looking into His face and growing in Him. If you really want to know what it's like to know the brilliance of God, put on sun glasses and look straight up at the noon day sun just as sunflowers do each and every day.

Look into His face, experience the warmth of His presence and then grow in Him.

Something to think about.

Rob
© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started