The Longer I Serve Him

04/19/2021

Statistics tell us that most individuals have more than twelve different occupations in their working lives. When I was just starting out, I thought I was only going to have one. It was grade 12 in 1969 when many companies dropped by the schools to try and convince fresh graduates to join their company. Within a few weeks after filling out the five applications, I received five job offers. And being the young 18 year old I took the one that paid the most money. Back then I had not heard that we need to do something we would love to do and get someone to pay us to do it.

I had learned early on that you go for the money, especially if it looks like a great job that you could put up with for a long time. I already knew that God had called me, but the money looked so good. Also, little did I know that God already had a plan for my life that would begin a journey of more jobs than I imagined doing. Over my 54 years of working, I have been employed by seven companies and as many churches.

But there is more to the story, to our own story. It is a story of our faith journey that impacted all of our personal stories. This calling is only one, with many facets. You see, I believe God calls us to serve Him. Just like Moses, who stood watching a bush burn without being consumed, our calling is the biggest turning point in our lives. The details of this calling will never change. Jesus called the disciples saying; 'Follow Me'. All the 'stuff' we do in life is to me, the cake and the stuff we do for God is the icing on the cake. And just so you know, I love icing.

I want you to sit back and reflect on your life up until this point and discover those times when you knew you were following Him. You may smile a lot as you return to those images burned in your mind. At other moments you will be saddened because they also showed how you lost your way in following Him. We all have regrets in this area. It's not too late to rekindle your call. I know this because at times, God came to me and asked me, "Where are you going?"

When we grab hold of what God called us to, we will be standing like Moses, in His presence on Holy Ground, but not singing that song but this one:

Since I started for the Kingdom,

Since my life He controls,

Since I gave my heart to Jesus,

The longer I serve Him,

The sweeter He grows.

The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows,

The more that I love Him, more love He bestows;

Each day is like heaven, my heart overflows,

The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows.


Something to think about

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started