Focus on The Goal

02/07/2022

Many things have happened over these last number of weeks since we crossing into a new year. One thing of note was, one date on our calendar was 02/02/2022. It was warm up until New Years when our Canadian cold moved in. We have also had to deal with societal issues. Many of them we would have done better not having to deal with, but that's life. But right now I have a question for you. If you made New Year's Resolution, have you kept them? By the way, this is a yes / no question. I would not be surprised if a good number of you need to think about it for a moment to just remember what you resolved to do.

Like a few of you, you are still working the plan and planing to get it done! I talked to someone just recently and they told me they are still on track with their resolution to read through the bible in one year. That's twelve chapters each day. So good to hear someone moving forward with their goal. I'll try to catch up on them the day their twelve chapters will include Psalms 119.

Interestingly we also know that many resolutions are 'self' focused. They are things like, losing weight, saving for retirement, going to the gym and being more intentional to get back to the hobbies that have been set aside for two long years. You have yours and I have mine.

So, where am I going with this? I was doing some reading lately and after I put the book down, I had a thought. Well, I have lots of thoughts and that is why I have over 50 pads of post it notes all around the house and church office. I digressed. This is my thought: 'Life needs movement & direction'. We need to be going somewhere and we need to be going in the right direction. If we can call ourselves Christ Followers, then we have a spiritual journey that focuses on getting to heaven. Stop right there for a second. The movement is to do it one step at a time. Because this journey is not just physical but probably more of a spiritual than anything else.

A long time ago a farmer from the church asked if I could come out to the farm and give him a hand. When I got there he wanted me to plow the field. I needed some training as I have never done it before. It started with learning how to start the tractor, work the controls. It wasn't too difficult at all. Then he said now you need to know how to go straight up and down the field.

I figured 'no problem'. Then he told me; to do it right you fix your gaze on a point way down at the other end of the field and drive to it at a speed that makes the tractor and cultivator do its job well and the distractions of life don't pull us away from the goal, heavenward. God wants us to do the same thing as we plow through life. Find the goal that God wants us to accomplish in the here and now while having our eyes fixed on Him. We can't take our eyes off the goal by the worlds distractions of life. After all, didn't Jesus say, 'follow Me'? That phrase combines movement and direction. As we look to Him, He is showing us the way we should go and we should never depart from it. Interestingly, He knows what is best of us for our journey, especially when our gaze gets distracted. All we need to do is fix our eyes on Him.

Something to think about.

Rob 

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started