I Walk Through The Door

05/23/2022

Over the years I've seen a lot of faces come and go at church. And when I say many faces, I'm actually talking about the people behind the face. Some were there before I arrived and many of them were there after I left. And some of them just said exactly that to my face. Some even left while I was there and returned when I moved on. Couldn't figure that out totally and I will explain.

I've seen old ones, young ones. I held babies who smiled or cried. I assume it was my face. I held seniors who were single again and needed a hug as well as younger adults who couldn't carry the weight of their broken marriage. They too smiled or cried when they got their lives back together.

But the brightest moments where when I saw a face coming excited about being in God's house. It was as if they were anticipating for six days, their next hour or two back in God's house. I also learned this a long time ago; there are two kinds of church people in the church. There are those who come and those who can't wait to come again. Those that moved me and encouraged me the most were those young in their faith and they were all ages, like Anastasia who always comes running as fast as her little legs could carry her.

Why those differences? I think it has to do with the first words I preached a most of the church I have pastored. The subject of that day was always about ENTHUSIASM. Most people don't equate that word with church. I don't know why because we have the greatest story to tell to the world and that is why we have this word and HISTORY or as I read it; HisStory. People can be enthusiastic about going to sports games. Why not church?

Enthusiasm comes from the Greek which actually means; excitement in God, En Theos. And if you can grasp that concept, you will on occasion leave a church that doesn't know what En Theos is all about. And that is okay because you can leave the church but you can never leave your faith. Today is just this moment where we bring our lives back together and come not just back to faith but back to HIM. It's the right time after we have been through all this 'stuff'. to get back into the building and come running.

Something to think about

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started