One Goal & Only One

08/02/2021

Do you set goals very often? In my case, August became the time to think and ponder where I wanted to be by next Sept 1st. For me, this means, I am getting set to set some new goals. The process begins with just siting and pondering where I was a year ago. Did I reach my goal, or goals? Did I add or remove some goals that I planned on accomplishing? What happened due to this strange thing called covid?

Then the easy part starts. I already knew some of the goals. Remember there are three types of goals;

1. Immediate Goals: Goals in the here and now. One of them of course was to make this list.

2. Short Term Goals: These are the ones you want and need to accomplish in the next 12-20 months.

3. Long Term Goals: They are those goals that reach into the distant future of 5 to 20 years.

Sound good? Goals are accumulative. The ones we set have a distinct influence on all those other goals in the chain of events we call getting through to the end. Or, Getting Through Life.

Some of you are thinking, why am I talking about this? Simple, if you don't have goals you have nowhere to go but the easy chair that is right across from the tv mounted on the opposite wall of the living room. Which makes we wonder why it's call the living room when nobody lives there, they just put in time. Many of us, put in time and never think about goals and ambitions. It might be that we think we have arrived.

I was reminded recently that goals are fluid, but only as life takes us down side roads, where we get lost and end us in a struggle to get back on track. Never let the things in life distract you from your goal, and my goal. Personal goals are only part of going through life. We also have one intrinsic goal that is more important than life goals and that is; living goals. God called each one of us who follow Him, as our main goal is, to be hooked on Jesus. I have a baseball cap that says just that. Yes, that's it. I want to, more than anything else, to be totally and entirely hooked on Jesus. And I am working the plan every day.

Getting to know Him in the beginning is wonderful. But then we may just get distracted. We go down the proverbial rabbit's hole chasing after bunnies that lead to nowhere. We need to, no we have to hang on to God in Christ and never let go. We must set the goal to Know Him and the power of His resurrection every single day of our lives. So set this goal in your life and never turn one way or the other. Why, because when we find His goal for our life, our life goals will always include Him.

Something to think about.

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started