Waking Up, Listening To God

05/16/2022

Many years ago, when I had just barely arrived into adulthood, my dad wanted to give me some fatherly advice. Being that he had been down the road a bit longer than me, I sat down to listen to his wisdom. Little did I know . . . Maybe you have heard similar advice where a parent wants to guide you down the road of least resistance or they know a great plan for your life? I had already told him I felt God's call on my life.

Well, he didn't want to tell me what occupation to pursue but he did tell me what was so wrong about my consideration of my future. He thought he knew what was good for me. "After all, ministers are always poor." Really? I didn't know that, after all; doesn't God own all the cattle on a thousand hills?

But this is what I went looking for between the covers of The Book. In Jeremiah 29:11 it read; "For I know what plans I have in mind for you,' says Adonai, 'plans for well-being, not for bad things; so that you can have hope and a future." I listened to my Father in heaven and so the journey began. Dad finally accepted it and later in life he started attending the church I pastored.

I tell you this story because this verse, along with others, point to the fact that like in 1 Peter 5:7, Peter writes: "Throw all your anxieties upon Him, because He cares about you.". And just so you know, the 'you' is singular. As much as our earthly father thinks, 'Father Knows Best', our heavenly Father knows all things. He knows all about what many of us have been going through these last few years. And in the middle of wars and rumours, and pandemics, we have to trust in Him to guide us and direct us as He walks ahead of us clearing the path before us. When we do, our cares disappear and He does what He does best. He lifts us out of the miry clay to set us on a firm foundation that begins and ends in Him.

Something to think about

Rob

© 2022 MiltonBaptistChurch. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started